S-Ply® leaf springs

 

   

S-Ply® is the registered name for composite leaf springs that are manufactured by Prause Durotec.

The reinforcing material has a strictly parallel-oriented, non-interlaced glass or carbon fibre structure. The fibres are neither pre-stretched nor bent. In contrast to metallic materials with an isotropic structure, they are direction dependent and therefore can be aligned to suit the material structure.

 

Epoxy resin compounds are used as binding agents. Their special balanced composition ensures high adhesion to the glass fibre surface, resulting in optimum dynamic and electrical properties. The ratio of matrix resin and reinforcement fibres has been chosen to profit from all of the benefits offered by the raw materials selected to form the composite material.

 

The matrix fulfils a number of important tasks. It provides fixing for the fibre in the desired arrangement and supports it against buckling when under compressive stress.  In addition, it has good load carrying and transmission properties, thus it directs the forces applied into the fibres. Hence, the polymer matrix has a decisive effect on the toughness and the tolerance to damage of the composite materials.

 

S-Ply® leaf springs are stacked UD–pre-pregnated layers that are pressed together. The mechanical properties of S-Ply® leaf springs can be adapted to customers’ needs by the orientation of the different pre-pregnated layers, to one another, during manufacturing.

 

CNC-controlled saws, milling- and drilling machines with the exclusive use of diamond and carbide cutting tools are used for the machining of S-Ply® leaf springs.

 

The key characteristics of high performance S-Ply® leaf springs:

 

1. S-Ply® leaf springs possess a high elastic energy storage capacity (low modulus), combined with a high mechanical strength. 

 

Result: In comparison with steel leaf springs they have significantly greater spring action,  higher internal damping and a more balanced springing behaviour, with a many times greater retention capacity of elastic energy than spring steel.

  

2. The mechanical properties of S-Ply® leaf springs can be adapted for various applications by the orientation to each other of different prepregnated layers.

 

Result: The overall, available mechanical strength is concentrated exactly where it is needed. This provides ideal tuning of the spring to the load.

 

3. S-Ply® leaf springs provide a balanced ratio of mechanical strength against weight. Further attributes are high fatigue strength with “fail-safe-characteristics”, corrosion resistance, impact resistance and also electrical insulation.

 

Result: These characteristics make it possible to construct high performance, mechanical and dynamic systems.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Blattfedern

Arbeiter

 

 

 

 

 

Blattfedern

S-Ply® Blattfedern

 

   

S-Ply® ist die eingetragene Bezeichnung für Flachformblattfedern der Firma Prause Durotec aus Faserverbundwerkstoffen.

 

Die in den Blattfedern vorhandenen Verstärkungsfasern bestehen aus streng parallelorientierten, nicht miteinander verwobenen Glas- oder Carbonfasern. Die Fasern sind nicht vorgestreckt und nicht geknickt. Sie sind, im Gegensatz zu metallischen Werkstoffen mit isotropem Gefüge, richtungsabhängig und können demzufolge zu einer werkstoffgerechten Konstruktion ausgerichtet werden.

 

Als Bindemittel dienen Epoxidharzsysteme. Ihre spezielle Abstimmung gewährleistet die sehr gute Haftfähigkeit zur Glasoberfläche, woraus optimale dynamische und elektrische Eigenschaften resultieren. Das Verhältnis von Matrixharz und Verstärkungsfasern ist so gewählt, dass sämtliche Vorteile der ausgewählten Rohstoffe als Verbundwerkstoff genutzt werden.

 

Die Matrix übernimmt eine Reihe wichtiger Aufgaben. Sie fixiert die Faser in der gewünschten Anordnung und stützt sie bei Druckbeanspruchung gegen das Abknicken. Darüber hinaus hat sie eine krafttragende Funktion und leitet so die auftretenden Kräfte in die Fasern ein. Auf diese Weise übt die Polymermatrix einen entscheidenden Einfluss auf die Zähigkeit und Schadentoleranz der Verbundwerkstoffe aus.

 

S-Ply® Blattfedern bestehen aus geschichteten und miteinader verpressten UD-Prepreglagen. Die mechanischen Eigenschaften einer S-Ply® Blattfeder lassen sich bei der Herstellung  durch die Orientierung einzelner Prepreglagen zueinander an Kundenbedürfnisse anpassen.

 

Die mechanische Bearbeitung von S-Ply® Blattfedern erfolgt durch CNC-gesteuerte Sägen, Fräs- und Bohrmaschinen, wobei ausschließlich diamant- und hartmetallbestückte Werkzeuge zum Einsatz kommen.

Die wichtigsten Merkmale der Hochleistungsblattfeder:

 

1. S-Ply® Blattfedern verfügen über eine hohe elastische Energiespeicherfähigkeit (niedriger E-Modul), welche mit einer hohen mechanischen Festigkeit gekoppelt ist.                                                

Effekt: Im Vergleich zu Stahlfedern erhält man eine deutlich größere spezifische Federwirkung, eine höhere innere Dämpfung und ein ausgewogeneres Federverhalten mit einer mehrfach größeren Speicherfähigkeit an elastischer Energie als Federstahl.

 

2. Die mechanische Eigenschaften von S-Ply® Blattfedern lassen sich durch die Orientierung einzelner Prepreglagen zueinander den unterschiedlichsten Anwendungen anpassen. 

Effekt: Die insgesamt vorhandene mechanische Festigkeit konzentriert sich genau dort, wo sie gebraucht wird. Dies bedeutet eine ideale Anpassung der Feder an die Belastung.

 

3. S-Ply® Blattfedern verfügen über ein ausgewogenes Verhältnis zwischen mechanischer Festigkeit und Gewicht. Weitere Eigenschaften sind die hohe Ermüdungsfestigkeit mit „Fail-Safe-Verhalten“, Korrosionsbeständigkeit, Kerbschlagfestigkeit sowie Elektroisolation.
Effekt: Diese Eigenschaften ermöglichen mechanisch und dynamisch hochbeanspruchte Konstruktionen.

 

Blattfedern

Arbeiter

 

 

 

 

 

Blattfedern